(Glen)Walk with Me

This week is a big week. The semester is winding down through that strange, stressful process that is finals, and my twentieth birthday is on Friday. It’s a lot to think about, and I certainly have a lot to say about it, just not now. I don’t have quite enough time to get out all the thoughts I need to in the right way.

That may have something to do with the fact that I spent two hours wandering around the Glen this morning (one great thing about going to college in the middle of nowhere: a lot of room for woods). I always like a good Glen walk – some small transcendental part of myself enjoys the solitude. This morning was a good one for that. It was gray, windy and I almost didn’t go once I stepped outside my dorm and felt rain spitting on my face.

But I did go, and I’m glad I did. Winding through trees and hopping over brooks was a nice change from sitting cooped up in my room or curled on a chair in the coffee shop working. And, of course, I took a lot of pictures. Way too many pictures. More pictures than even I can appreciate in one sitting.

So I narrowed it down to a few of the best ones, and I’ve left them here for you to see. Looking at them again, I think there’s something to be said about nature and our interaction with it, and how that solitude I found wasn’t quite as solitary as I thought. Though I won’t disclose anymore commentary on my walk, know that each picture represents a moment where something caught my eye and I could not continue walking without capturing it. Maybe they show that I have a keen eye, maybe that I’m easily distracted. Either way, I hope you enjoy, and I hope you find some way this week to clear your mind and connect with your inner Thoreau or tree nymph or what have you.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

