The Finer Things

Admittedly, I have some big dreams. Getting published, travelling the world, writing for TV, marrying Jake Gyllenhaal…

But sometimes when I picture my future, I realize it wouldn’t take that much to make me happy. Even without wild success and a feature on the best-dressed list at the Oscars, I could live quite contently with a few things that many would overlook.

I would be happy if my feet were always wrapped up in warm socks or resting on a soft carpet.

I would be happy if I always used as much soap or moisturizer as I wanted, instead of worrying about saving enough to make it last longer.

I would be happy if my friends always remembered when it was my birthday.

I would be happy if I had a phone charger within reach whenever my battery dropped below 20%.

I would be happy if I always had the right bills to make change in my wallet, instead of a couple of unbroken twenties.

I would be happy if my microwave heated leftovers all the way through on the first try.

I would be happy if my toast and my marshmallows were never burnt.

I would be happy if I never had to guess if my partner was being honest.

I would be happy if I never accidentally wore my new favorite shoes on a rainy day.

I would be happy if my sheets were always tucked in enough to stay on the bed but loose enough to let me breathe.

I would be happy if my mom was always available for advice and a hug.

I would be happy if I could watch the sunrise from one window and the sunset from another.

There must be nothing like watching a lifelong goal be achieved. But I’m sure there’s nothing like the happiness of a small moment – a cup of tea and a good book, a late night talk with a friend, your dog welcoming you home after work. These moments are luxuries, just as much as a sports car, sprawling country house, or being married to an incredibly attractive movie star. I want my life to be full of them, and I want myself to remember not to take them for granted.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

